Museum Restaurant-Café
Rudi-Matt-Weg 10
6580 St. Anton am Arlberg

+43 5446 2475
History of the Mansion Museum Restaurant St. Anton

History of the Mansion


A historic building with a true sense of occasion.

The historic mansion that houses the Museum is a real ‘architectural gem’ in the heart of St. Anton.

In 1912, German industrialist Bernhard Trier had this stylish mansion erected in its own spacious grounds in an elevated position, overlooking St. Anton. The beautiful old Arlberg Kandahar Home is an elaborate Tyrolean-style hunting lodge. Outstanding woodworks adorn the walls and the ceilings in this place where history was made.

Skiing history was written here in the mansion of Bernhard Trier, who is generally regarded as the patron of Arlberg’s ski pioneer Hannes Schneider. It was in these historic rooms that Schneider was first persuaded to propagate his Arlberg skiing technique all over the world.


The Museum.

The spacious grounds were transformed into delightful gardens open to the public and in 1981 the Ski & Local Heritage Museum was established in the mansion’s stylish and elegant interior. The seven display rooms upstairs feature a walk through local ski history and document the development of St. Anton and its road to a world renowned ski destination.

The four rooms that are located on the ground floor of the Arlberg Kandahar House are home to the Museum Restaurant and certain to provide lasting memories. Furnished with elegant and fine antiques, the ambiance in these historic spaces is one of upscale refinement, where history was made and beauty endures. The Center Vestibule with stone fireplace, the Library, the Farmhouse Room, the Study and the Piano Room all are places where history comes to life.